Women in Economics

Bringing you the contributions and achievements of leaders in economics. Explore the work of some of the most influential thinkers and doers in the field.

In partnership with the Centre for Economic Policy Research, CEPR, an independent, non-profit network of more than 1,300 economists.

Women in Economics is an expansion of our ongoing Nobel Perspectives program, which to date has grown into the largest repository of digital content on award winning economic theories.

The aim of Women in Economics is to focus on economists who are in the middle of their careers, but have already made a major impact in their fields. With fresh thinking and diverse perspectives, they are paving the way to influence the current and next generation of leaders and economists.

Get to know the women in economics

In everyday life we all have to deal with economics

– Hélène Rey, professor of international macroeconomics.

The missing women in economics have become an issue, essentially because their share in academic positions is not progressing. It’s a good time to showcase exceptional female economists and their research to encourage others.

– Beatrice Weder di Mauro, professor of international macroeconomics and finance.

for ongoing facts and inspiration about women in economics.

Meet the Committee

UBS and the Centre for Economic Policy Research, CEPR, have ensured a sound and rigorous selection process for the program.

Each month Women in Economics will showcase a new economist. A jury of three CEPR representatives will oversee the selection process, appointing a list of leading researchers and policy makers from a variety of economic-related fields. The process is based on the work done by the economists in terms of both contribution and impact, as well as the creativity of their research. Get to know the committee below.

Beatrice Weder di Mauro

President, CEPR

Beatrice Weder di Mauro is the President of CEPR, a Professor of International Economics at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva, and a Research Professor and Distinguished Fellow at the INSEAD Emerging Markets Institute in Singapore.

She has served as consultant to governments, international organizations and central banks. She has also worked at the University of Basel and the IMF and held visiting positions at Harvard University, the National Bureau of Economic Research and the United Nations University in Tokyo. She has extensive experience as independent director on boards of leading global companies in banking, technology and steel, insurance, development finance and the pharmaceutical industry.

Her research interests are in international macroeconomics and finance. She has published widely in leading academic journals and writes regular op-eds and contributions to the public policy debate.

Hélène Rey

Professor of Economics, London Business School and Vice President and Research Fellow, CEPR

Hélène Rey is the Lord Bagri Professor of Economics at London Business School. She was previously Professor of Economics and International Affairs in both the economics department and the Woodrow Wilson School at Princeton University.

In 2005 she was awarded an Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship and has received a number of prizes including, but not limited to, the Bernácer Prize, the inaugural Birgit Grodal Award of the European Economic Association, the Yrjö Jahnsson Award and the Maurice Allais Prize. She has served on several boards and committees and is a member of the French Macro Prudential Authority, the Commission Economique de la Nation and of the Bellagio Group. Rey is also an associate editor of the AEJ: Macroeconomics Journal and a co-editor of the Annual Review of Economics.

Her research focuses on international macroeconomics, trade and financial imbalances, the theory of financial crises and the organization of the international monetary system, areas where she has made major contributions to economics.

Jean Tirole

Director of the Toulouse School of Economics, Nobel Laureate and Research Fellow, CEPR

Jean Tirole is honorary chairman of the Jean-Jacques Laffont - Toulouse School of Economics Foundation and chairman of the Institute for Advanced Study in Toulouse. He also holds a visiting position at MIT, the Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales, and the Institut de France. He has been a CEPR Research Fellow since 1991 in the Public Economics, Financial Economics and Industrial Organization programs.

His ground-breaking research covers industrial organization, regulation, finance, macroeconomics and banking, and psychology-based economics. He has published over 200 articles in international reviews, as well as 12 scientific books. His latest book, Economics for the Common Good, was named one of Bloomberg’s Best Books of 2017 and one of Financial Times Best Economics Books of 2017.

He has been the recipient of numerous international distinctions, including the 2007 CNRS gold medal and the 2014 Sveriges Riksbank prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel.