Agenda

We continue to add new speakers and topics to our agenda. Please check regularly for the latest information

Managing FX reserves in a post Covid-19 world - Alternative portfolios for central banks

The rise of alternative asset classes among institutional investors has been one of the most notable investment trends in recent years. But while alternative asset classes can provide additional and uncorrelated returns in the current low yield environment, the adoption by more conservative sovereign investors, in particular central banks, is still lagging behind. What is the role of alternative asset classes in the portfolio especially of fixed-income heavy investors in a lower-for-longer post-Covid-19 world? How can traditional reserve management portfolios innovate?

Timings

11.00 a.m. – 11.45 a.m. CET
5.00 a.m. – 5.45 a.m. EDT
5.00 p.m. – 5.45 p.m. HKT

Duration

45 minutes

 

Raivo Vanags

Member of the Board, Head of Market Operations, Latvijas Banka

Willem van Breugel

Head of Global Sovereign Markets, UBS Asset Management

Massimiliano Castelli

Head of Strategy, Sovereign Institutions, UBS Asset Management (Moderator)

Market Outlook: A conversation with our Head of Investments

Following the sharp sell-off in March and the subsequent spectacular recovery markets are again going through a new period of volatility. As the pandemic continues spreading across countries and the economic recovery at risk, what is the outlook for equity markets? Will tech stocks continue outperforming? Has the time for value stocks finally arrived? How should investors be positioned at this point in the Covid-19 crisis?

Timings

12:00 p.m. – 12:30. p.m. CET
6:00 a.m. – 6:30 a.m. EDT 
6:00 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. HKT

Duration

30 minutes

Barry Gill

Head of Investments, UBS Asset Management

Massimiliano Castelli

Head of Strategy, Sovereign Institutions, UBS Asset Management (Moderator)

Digital currencies: technological innovation in global payment systems and central banks

Central banks from different parts of the world have started pilots on so called central bank digital currencies (CBDC). Following mixed results from private sector initiative such as Libra central banks have taken the lead as global payment systems undergo a massive technological change. What are the implications for reserve managers? How will CBDC impact reserve management? What are the implications for leading reserve currencies? How the rise of CBDC impact gold?

Timings

1.00 p.m. – 2.00 p.m. CET
7.00 a.m. – 8.00 a.m. EDT
7.00 p.m. – 8.00 p.m. HKT

Duration

60 minutes

Huw van Steenis

Senior Adviser to the CEO and Chair of Sustainable Finance Committee, UBS Group AG

Cecilia Skingsley

First Deputy Governor, Sveriges Riksbank

Ousmène Mandeng

Senior Advisor, Blockchain and Multiparty Systems, Accenture

Massimiliano Castelli

Head of Strategy, Sovereign Institutions, UBS Asset Management (Moderator)

Closing Remarks

Timings

2:00 p.m. – 2:10 p.m. CET
8:00 a.m. – 8:10 a.m. EDT
8:00 p.m. – 8:10 p.m. HKT

Duration

10 minutes

Massimiliano Castelli

Head of Strategy, Sovereign Institutions, UBS Asset Management 

Nobel Perspective on the post-Covid World

Timings

3.00 p.m. – 4.00 p.m. CET
9.00 a.m. – 10.00 a.m. EDT
9.00 p.m. – 10.00 p.m. HKT

Duration

60 minutes

 

Jean Tirole

Nobel Laureate in Economic Sciences, 2014

Massimiliano Castelli

Head of Strategy, Sovereign Institutions, UBS Asset Management (Moderator)

Agenda is subject to change
© UBS 2020. The key symbol and UBS are among the registered and unregistered trademarks of UBS. All rights reserved. All pictures or images presented herein, are for illustrative purposes only. No relationship, association, sponsorship, or endorsement is suggested or implied between UBS and any landmarks or properties, or with their respective owners, organizations, management, sponsors, investors or patrons.
*Awaiting final confirmation

When accessing the presentation webcast, note that your data may be transferred securely to a third party inside or outside of your country of residence for processing on our behalf. If you have any concerns, do not register online and please contact karin.detre@ubs.com.