Race Information

Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur

October 02 | 15:00 local time, 09:00 CET

Since its inauguration in 1999, the Sepang circuit in Malaysia has come to be regarded as one of the toughest for teams and drivers as very hot and humid conditions stretch the competitors to their physical extreme. Due to cockpit temperatures of 50°C it is not strange for a driver to lose three kilograms during the race, through sweat alone. As the first of a now extensive portfolio of Hermann Tilke designed Grand Prix circuits, it follows his trademark style of long straights followed by a heavy-braking zone, which allows for slip-streaming and out-braking manoeuvres. The 1999 race saw the return to fitness of Michael Schumacher following his leg-break at Silverstone earlier in the year and after dominating the race he handed victory to Ferrari team-mate and title contender Eddie Irvine. Sebastian Vettel and Fernando Alonso have three wins apiece here, with Vettel’s 2013 victory proving controversial for him and Red Bull as the German disobeyed team orders and forced his way past team-mate and race leader Mark Webber.



Circuit length 5.543 km             
Race distance 310.408 km
Laps 56
2015 race winner Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)