Race Information

Japan, Suzuka

October 09 | 14:00 local time, 7:00 CET

Regarded as one of the best drivers circuits in the world, Suzuka first hosted a Grand Prix in 1987 and the iconic figure-of-eight circuit presents the drivers and engineers with a real challenge; a series of fast sweeping corners with few braking zones. Like Barcelona, it is a track where a good well balanced car really stands out. It is often a dramatic race and the chances of a safety car are relatively high at 60%. Among many highlights here over the years are the duels between Alain Prost and Ayrton Senna in 1989 and 1990, where the pair collided to decide the outcome of both year’s championships. Kimi Raikkonen’s victory in 2005, starting from 17th place on the grid, is another classic, with his last lap pass on Giancarlo Fisichella.  Sebastian Vettel has won this race four times, with Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button both victorious here in the last decade.



Circuit length 5.807 km
Race distance 307.471 km
Laps 53
2015 winner Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)