Race Information

Germany, Hockenheim

July 31 | 14:00 local time, 14:00 CET

The German Grand Prix returns this year, at Hockenheim, after a year off the calendar in 2015 as Nürburgring was unable to host its scheduled event.

Throughout history the track has alternated with Nürburgring as the premium German motorsport venue. It became the home of the German Grand Prix after Niki Lauda’s fiery accident at the Nürburgring in 1976. A plan to alternate between venues began in 2009.

The Hockenheimring is the home circuit for four-time world champion Sebastian Vettel, who grew up in Heppenheim, some 45km to the north. Vettel has won at Nürburgring; but despite being on pole at his home track, he has never won there. 

Hockenheim first hosted a Grand Prix in 1970, on a 6.8km version of the current track, which had long straights with chicanes. The current track configuration was inaugurated in 2002. It features an impressive stadium section and a mix of fast and slow corners.

Of the current F1 drivers, Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg have both won there. Fernando Alonso has won three times, including the controversial 2010 race, when his Ferrari team mate Felipe Massa was given a coded message ‘Fernando is faster than you’, to instruct him to move aside and let the Spaniard win.


Circuit length 4.574 km
Race distance 306.458 km
Laps 67
2015 winner N/A