Agenda

We continue to add new speakers and topics to our agenda. Please check regularly for the latest information

Keynote: The Competition for Global Leadership in the Post-Pandemic World

Regionalization is the new globalization. Trade wars and protectionism, lockdowns and travel bans -- all point to a world of limited mobility, trade, and investment outside of the North American, European, and Asian regions. Yet all three regions continue to compete for global leadership in promoting their industries and technologies, as well as their diplomatic and ideological influence. What has the pandemic taught us about the comparative strengths and weaknesses of the world's three main power centers? What does each offer to the world and which is most likely to prevail?

Timings

9.00 a.m. – 9.40 a.m. CET
3.00 a.m. – 3.40 a.m. EDT
3.00 p.m. – 3.40 p.m. HKT

Duration

40 minutes

 

Dr. Parag Khanna

Managing Partner Futuremap, Singapore

Panel Discussion

Timings

9.45 a.m. – 10.30 a.m. CET
3.45 a.m. – 4.30 a.m. EDT
3.45 p.m. – 4.30 p.m. HKT

Duration

45 minutes

Dr. Parag Khanna

Managing Partner Futuremap, Singapore

Kevin Bong

Director of Economics and Investment Strategy, GIC, Singapore

Hoon Lee 

Head of Investment Strategy Division, KIC, Korea

Benno Klingenberg-Timm

Head Global Sovereign Markets APAC, UBS Asset Management, Singapore (Moderator)

Keynote: Was the economy as bad as many feared?

The pandemic devastated the global economy in the second quarter. Uniquely, policy makers deliberately sought to lower GDP. GDP duly collapsed. But was the economy as badly hurt as many feared? In economics, one of the first casualties of the pandemic was data quality. Revision indices, measuring how many data points are revised upwards, have soared for Germany and the US.  Economic activity during the second quarter was bad, but not as bad as first thought.

Timings

11.00 a.m. – 11.45 a.m. CET
5.00 a.m. – 5.45 a.m. EDT
5.00 p.m. – 5.45 p.m. HKT 

Duration

45 minutes

Paul Donovan

Chief Economist, UBS Global Wealth Management, London 

Monetary Policy and Central Banks

UBS Chairman Axel A. Weber will share his views on recent monetary policy and economic developments.

Timings

1.00 p.m. – 2.00 p.m. CET
7.00 a.m. – 8.00 a.m. EDT
7.00 p.m. – 8.00 p.m. HKT

Duration

60 minutes

Axel A. Weber

Chairman of the Board of Directors, UBS Group AG

Hyun Song Shin

Economic Advisor and Head of Research, Bank for International Settlements, Basel

Massimiliano Castelli

Head of Strategy, Sovereign Institutions, UBS Asset Management (Moderator)

The Green Finance Revolution

Immediately following UN Climate Week, Mark Carney, UN Climate Envoy on Climate Change and Finance and former Governor of the Bank of England, Axel A. Weber, Chairman of UBS Group and Huw van Steenis, Senior Adviser to the CEO & Chair of the Sustainable Finance Committee will discuss the outlook for a green recovery, the role of finance in the transition to net zero and their views of the implications for investors

Timings

3.00 p.m. – 4.00 p.m. CET
9.00 a.m. – 10.00 a.m. EDT
9.00 p.m. – 10.00 p.m. HKT

Duration

60 minutes

Axel A. Weber

Chairman of the Board of Directors, UBS Group AG

Mark Carney

UN Climate Envoy on Climate Change and Finance

Huw van Steenis

Senior Adviser to the CEO and Chair of Sustainable Finance Committee, UBS Group AG

Agenda is subject to change
© UBS 2020. The key symbol and UBS are among the registered and unregistered trademarks of UBS. All rights reserved. All pictures or images presented herein, are for illustrative purposes only. No relationship, association, sponsorship, or endorsement is suggested or implied between UBS and any landmarks or properties, or with their respective owners, organizations, management, sponsors, investors or patrons.
*Awaiting final confirmation

When accessing the presentation webcast, note that your data may be transferred securely to a third party inside or outside of your country of residence for processing on our behalf. If you have any concerns, do not register online and please contact karin.detre@ubs.com.