Latest media releases


UBS and Formula 1(TM) announce Global Partnership

London | | Media Releases EMEA

UBS and Formula 1TM today announced that they have signed an agreement for UBS to become a Global Partner of Formula 1TM. The partnership will be formally launched at the 2010 FORMULA 1 SINGTEL SINGAPORE GRAND PRIX, which runs from 24 to 26 September, 2010.

The agreement follows a comprehensive evaluation by UBS of the commercial benefits of all global sponsorship properties. Formula 1TM is a year round, highly visible, and popular sport with an especially strong presence in many of UBS's key growth markets such as Asia, Middle East and Latin America. The long-term partnership will provide excellent branding and hospitality opportunities that fit with UBS's global footprint and business strategy. Key benefits of the partnership include;

  • Global reach: currently 19 events in 18 countries on 4 continents

  • Growth markets: Formula 1TM is present and growing strongly in strategically important markets for UBS such as Asia, Middle East and Latin America

  • Brand awareness: global television audience in 2009 of more than 520 million people across 187 countries; making Formula 1TM one of the most-watched annual sports in the world

  • Client entertainment: fascinating opportunities for key client hospitality across the globe

  • Year round presence: Formula 1TM season lasts eight months of the year

Oswald Grübel, UBS Group Chief Executive, said:

“UBS has been searching for a global sponsorship platform that has appeal to our clients, promotes our brand globally and makes good commercial sense. Our new partnership with one of the largest and most popular sporting organizations in the world will fulfil all these criteria, and it constitutes a key element of our newly launched branding activities. The global reach of F1TM complements the many local activities we support." Bernie Ecclestone, Group CEO of Formula 1TM, said: “UBS is a global company where performance, teamwork and superior execution are integral to their clients' success. These values complement those of Formula 1TM and I'm delighted to welcome UBS to Formula 1TM.” In line with all commercial contracts, the financial terms of the agreement will not be disclosed by UBS or Formula 1TM. Commercial attractiveness was however a key consideration for UBS and the agreement compares favourably with other forms of brand awareness and client hospitality.

Media Enquiries

London:

Richard Morton, Richard.Morton@ubs.com, Tel: +44 20 7568 0175

Singapore:

Julie Yeo, Julie.Yeo@ubs.com, Tel: +65 6495 5332

Hong Kong:

Mark Panday, Mark.Panday@ubs.com, Tel: +852 29 71 82 21

Beijing:

Joanna Sin, Joanna.Sin@ubssecurities.com, +86 10 5832 8876

Sydney:

Caroline Gurney, Caroline.Gurney@ubs.com, +61 29 324 33 35

Tokyo:

Jackie Kestenbaum, Jackie.Kestenbaum@ubs.com, +81 3 5208 6275

Frankfurt:

Anja Schlenstedt, Anja.Schlenstedt@ubs.com, +49 69 13 69 83 03

Milan:

Andrea Carnevale, Andrea.Carnevale@ubs.com, +39 027 6265612

Zurich:

Tatiana Togni, Tatiana.Togni@ubs.com, +41 44 234 83 44

New York:

Karina Byrne, Karina.Byrne@ubs.com, +1 212 882 5692

Toronto:

Graeme Harris, Graeme.Harris@ubs.com, +1 416 345 7050